Original Story

Short Story “The Bridge of Eternal Love”

Hey hi my lovlies! I am Tanya MacPherson and I upload posts every friday at 7pm. Today I am returning to my routes with a short story/ extract. For those of you who have read some of my early posts you may be familiar with “Coming Out Day” a post I published in October in support of the LGBTQ+ community. If you have not read it you can check it out here.

“Coming Out Day” was an extract from a book I had tried to write. While the book alone did not work out there were some parts I loved and was desperate to share and “Coming Out Day” was one of them. “The Bridge of Eternal Love” is another and so settle back and enjoy this short but heart warming tale of love, life and loss…


“Do you think we will die?” Danny asked Sean. It was the night before the battle and the end of the final day of training. The week had sped past and morphed into a montage of blood, sweat and tears, people fighting for what they believed was right and people becoming hero’s as they risked their life for one another. All that could be done had been done and now all that was left to do was wait. The field had been used, trampled down and abandoned. The night had rolled around quickly and while most were at home Sean and Danny were not. While everyone else was tucked up for the last night in bed whereby they would go to sleep and know that they would awake in the morning, Sean and Danny were still on the field. There was something that seemed to compel them to stay; as if their legs had given up from all the hours they had spent preparing for, what could be, the end.

“We all will eventually.” Sean replied.

“Charming.” Danny chuckled lightly. His eyes fixed on the stars as they glistened reluctantly.

“It is true. No matter how much we protect ourselves we all end up the same way.” Sean said dryly.

“How morbid.”

“Be us rich or poor, man or woman, friend or foe, we all end up equal.” Sean explained. “Death is death and if you think that Death is morbid then that’s how you feel. Me, I don’t see it as fear more as destiny.” He concluded.

“I don’t see death as morbid, but I do see your interpretation of it to be so.” It were as if Danny were trying to provoke Sean in an attempt to sooth his mind through means of distraction.

“Well tell me then Mr Brightside, how do you see death?” Sean asked.

“Our life is a gift. We treasure it and protect it but not for ourselves. We spend all our lives preparing ourselves for death.”

“And you said I was morbid.”

“Listen!” Danny insisted “Once upon a time Life and Death fell in love yet they were separated by years and years and so Death turned dark for without Life there was no light. Life missed Death too and so sent him many a gift to prove his love. He sent them in the form of babies only by the time Death received them they were old and fragile. Despite how old the gift was when he received it Death kept them all and treasured them forever. That’s why we die. All our life is, is a message of love sent from one old beau to another.” Sean suddenly began to laugh deeply and lovingly. He rolled his eyes and twisted onto his side to look at Danny with a wide grin stretching across his face. “What? Does my story amuse you?” Danny asked.

“No!” Sean quickly said before filling his words with a light humour.

“Then what is so funny?” Danny asked, slightly offended yet thankful for the distraction.

“That Life can’t afford to send his gifts with next day delivery!”  Sean spluttered, poking him sharply in the arm before watching a smile stretch across his face.

“You know what I mean.” Danny laughed twisting onto his side to face Sean. Their eyes interlocked and almost simultaneously they lay back and began to look back up to the stars.


And that is all you get for today I’m afraid! I hope you enjoyed this story/ extract and I hope it has given you a new outlook towards life and death. Let me know in the comments if you have enjoyed these extracts and let me know if you want to read more of the story and click the like button to share your love!

Next week will be a little different… as announced in “The Big Break …”  the 14th July will be a surprise post which I am very excited to share wit you all. It is the start of a new project and so don’t forget to tune in and check it out. Why not take a guess below about what it will be … all correct guesses could lead to a prize! 

23 thoughts on “Short Story “The Bridge of Eternal Love”

  1. I like the little excerpt you showed. A little scene of a larger thing. It was so normal yet such a different conversation. The mature friendship between two men. I really like your writing style, it’s similar to mine. I was wondering if you’ll be interested in doing a collaboration with me? We both can work on a short story like this. It can be fun and helpful. Do let me know what you think. You can check out my blog if you’d like to.

    But apart from that, I liked this scene , it was calm and yet had so many layers to it. Nice job.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

