bookvember · Review

Review”Mortal instruments”

It may have taken months for it to happen but I finally caved. For nearly a year now a friend has been pestering me to pick up a copy of Cassandra Claire’s ‘City of Bones’ and give it read and despite it taking me a while to give in, this month it has happened and I am most definitely glad that it did.

Following a reader interview I conducted last month – which, if you have not yet read it, you can check out by clicking the link at the end of this post – I asked my wonderful interviewee “If you could recommend one book for someone to read, what would it be?” and she replied “City of bones, it is the first book in the mortal instruments series” and so I decided to make it my mission to pick up a copy of the book and see what all the commotion was about.

In 2004 Claire began writing her first novel (City of bones) and by 2007 it was a published fantasy story revolving around the characters of Clary Fray, Jace Wayland and Simon Lewis. It wasn’t until 2010 however that the book really began to take off. Winning the 2010 Georgia Peach Book Awards for Teen Readers and eventually becoming a movie followed by a successful TV show which is soon going into its second season.

I must admit, though it might upset a few of you, I did not open the book with the highest expectations of it. I was half expecting to find myself trapped reading another endlessly tiresome book which had been overhyped by modern teen culture (not naming any books specifically … *cough* Twilight *cough*) and when I discovered there had been a rather disgraceful film made of the book my opinion went from “maybe this won’t be for me” to “I am determined not to like this book”. However what I found was very different. I soon began to eat my words as this wonderful book seemed to entertain me and make the time fly. ‘City of Bones’ seemed able to draw me in almost instantaneously, creating the illusion that I was actually there watching each battle and exchange of words go down. For days following my finishing of the book I kept my eyes peeled as I eagerly searched for a rouge shadow hunter chasing demons down the road – yet there didn’t seem to be any (that I could see anyway).

One thing Cassandra Claire has done particularly well with these books is characterisation. She managed to carefully select three opposing traits and somehow develop them into characters who complement one another beautifully. From the dark and brooding to the witty and sarcastic Cassandra Claire has managed to do it all. Each exchange between her beautiful characters had me sitting on the edge of my seat biting my lip through anxiety as every word managed to develop the story further.

Now, I often chose to avoid speaking specifics for the pure fact of not wanting to spoil anything for anyone, however I gathered speaking about specific characters is a slightly different situation – I hope. The character of which I am desperate to talk to you about is Simon. If you were to fit his personality into a stereotypical character then Simon would be the perfect sidekick. His light heated humour has the ability to lighten the mood no matter what the situation. Furthermore his naive innocence allows Cassandra Claire to write her book as if it were an idiot’s guide to the world of shadow hunters, which is an important thing to be able to do when inventing new creatures.

Overall it took a while for me to come around but I am glad that I did. Anyone who is looking for a fun read or is at all interested in fantasy fiction then this book is definitely for you.

To find the reader interview click Here

To buy the book:

UK readers can buy it for £3.85 on: Amazon UK

US readers can buy it for $10.18 on: Amazon US

One thought on “Review”Mortal instruments”

Leave a Reply

