bookvember · Review

Review “Wuthering Heights”

I had never understood the capabilities of classic literature to evade the effects of time, that is until I read Emily Bronte’s ‘Wuthering heights.’

We have all experienced the overwhelming emotion of dread which comes alongside opening something deemed to be ‘classic’ literature. The impending complexity of their language looming over every page the reader turns. We have all worried ourselves with how these phenomenal books  withstand changing times and how they are capable of explaining the most complex of human emotions in a matter of words. This has never been truer than in reference to Bronte’s wuthering heights.

“‘For shame, Heathcliff!’ said I. ‘It is for God to punish wicked people; we should learn to forgive.'”

– Chapter 7,  Wuthering Heights

Upon opening the book I will admit I didn’t have the highest of expectations. I half thought that I would turn over to page one and find myself already lost and confused but this was far from the case. I opened the book and began reading Mr Lockwood’s narrative and I felt instantly intrigued, desperate to read on. As I continued reading and was introduced to other characters I found myself falling ever more in love with the book and the story of which it held.

One day I found myself sitting in a costa coffee, taking a break from this hectic world in which we live, and I decided to have a little read. It wasn’t until I checked the time and realised that three hours had passed me by since last I looked up from the pages of the book that I realised that I had become obsessed.

“Nelly, I am Heathcliff! He’s always, always in my mind: not as a pleasure, any more than I am always a pleasure to myself, but as my own being.”

– Chapter 9, Wuthering Heights

Through ‘Wuthering Heights’ Bronte was given the capability to make a political statement. She was enabled to have her say in a world of which otherwise prohibited it. And isn’t that what writing is all about? ‘Wuthering Heights’ may not have been the cheeriest or funniest book I have ever read but it is most definitely the book I have related to the most. It was a comfort to read of the mundane challenges her characters faced and it was almost a relief to read her words of which summarised emotions I too have felt.

Bronte’s ‘Wuthering Heights’ was a phenomenal book which does not specifically apply to one group of people for there is something within it which can appeal to everyone and due to that fact I do recommend it.

“‘Now, my bonny lad, you are mine! And we’ll see if one tree won’t grow as crooked as another, with the same wind to twist it!'”

– Chapter 17, Wuthering Heights

 Overall score: 7/10

UK readers can buy the book for £1.99   HERE

US readers can buy the book for $6.25 HERE

 

One thought on “Review “Wuthering Heights”

Leave a Reply

